Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Who voted against gay marriage in North Carolina?

The North Carolina Senate has approved SB 514, sending to voters a constitutional amendment that would appear to forbid not only gay marriage but civil unions and domestic partnerships as well.

ThinkProgress observed:

Despite this supposed weakening of the language, the new bill does not seem to be all that accommodating:
Marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be valid or recognized in this State.  This section does not prohibit a private party from entering into  contracts with another private party; nor does this section prohibit  courts from adjudicating the rights of private parties pursuant to such contracts.
If one-man/one-woman marriage is still the “only domestic legal  union” that will be recognized, how exactly does the additional language  leave room for domestic partnerships? Law professors have condemned it  as “vague and untested,” suggesting it may even “invalidate domestic violence protections” for unmarried couples.

Against placing constitutional amendment to ban all gay legal unions on ballot in North Carolina: Atwater, Berger, D., Blue, Clodfelter, Dannelly, Garrou, Graham, Jenkins, Jones, Kinnaird, McKissick, Nesbitt, Purcell, Robinson, Stein, Vaughan

For placing constitutional amendment to ban all gay legal unions on ballot in North Carolina: Allran Apodaca, Berger, P., Bingham, Blake, Brock, Brown, Brunstetter, Clary, Daniel, Davis, East, Forrester, Goolsby, Gunn, Harrington, Hise, Hunt, Jackson, Meredith, Newton, Pate, Preston, Rabon, Rouzer, Rucho, Soucek, Stevens, Tillman, Tucker

Absent: Hartsell, Mansfield, Walters, White

Here is how the North Carolina House voted on the same issue yesterday:

1295      SB514DEFENSE OF MARRIAGE.   
Third Reading
Outcome: PASSED
Time: Sep 12 2011  6:02PM

Total Votes: 117   Ayes: 75   Noes: 42   Not: 2   Exc. Absent: 1   Exc. Vote: 0


Ayes:   Representative(s): Brisson; Crawford; Floyd; Goodman; Graham; Hill; McGuirt; Owens; Pierce; SpearRepresentative(s):  Avila; Barnhart; Blackwell; Blust; Boles; Brawley; Brown, L.; Brown, R.;  Brubaker; Burr; Cleveland; Collins; Cook; Current; Daughtry; Dixon;  Dockham; Dollar; Faircloth; Folwell; Frye; Gillespie; Guice; Hager;  Hastings; Hilton; Hollo; Holloway; Howard; Hurley; Iler; Ingle; Johnson;  Jones; Jordan; Justice; Killian; Langdon; LaRoque; Lewis; McComas;  McCormick; McElraft; McGee; Mills; Moffitt; Moore, T.; Murry; Pridgen;  Randleman; Sager; Saine; Samuelson; Sanderson; Setzer; Shepard; Stam;  Starnes; Steen; Stevens; Stone; Tillis (SPEAKER); Torbett; Warren, H.;  West
Noes:   Representative(s):  Adams; Alexander, K.; Alexander, M.; Bell; Bordsen; Brandon; Bryant;  Carney; Cotham; Earle; Faison; Farmer-Butterfield; Fisher; Gill;  Glazier; Hackney; Haire; Hall; Hamilton; Harrison; Insko; Jackson;  Jeffus; Keever; Lucas; Luebke; Martin; McLawhorn; Michaux; Mobley;  Moore, R.; Parfitt; Parmon; Rapp; Ross; Tolson; Wainwright; Warren, E.;  Weiss; Wilkins; Womble; WrayRepresentative(s): None
Not Voting:   Representative(s): None Representative(s): Bradley; McGrady
Exc. Absence:   Representative(s): None Representative(s): Horn

No comments:

Post a Comment